Summer Fail and New School Years

August 26, 2014

So I failed big time. EPIC FAIL. We did not do ONE SINGLE thing I had originally planned to do this summer. We planned to camp. Didn’t happen. We planned to fish. Didn’t happen. (The kids even got new poles and their own little tackle boxes). And lastly, I had planned to teach all 3 boys to ride their bikes without training wheels this summer. That was my one big goal. How hard could it be? (Yes, I know we’re extremely behind on this skill.  Gav has balance issues and we’ve really put it off for him, so everyone else is lacking too). We had all summer spread out before us with not much else going on. Guess what guys. We didn’t even get the bikes out once this summer. Seriously. What happened? I blinked and school started. We still had fun this summer…..I think…..I already can’t really remember what we did. Sigh. I can’t beat myself up over this but it’s just hard to believe we didn’t do a single one of those things. How did we not even camp this year??????

But school started last week and everyone was very excited to go back. Maybe because we had a super boring summer without camping, fishing or biking? Probably. Time to get back to fun stuff and leave boring mom at home.

1stdayofschooltateTate’s in kindergarten this year.  Not much of a change for him because he has the same teacher and classroom as preschool last year.  He’s very excited to be the big kid in the class though.  (Excuse the hideous shirt.  I have completely given up trying to dress the boys.  They are SO particular about what they wear now.   And by particular, I mean they have to have a graphic t with some kind of character on it.  Goes against everything I stand for, but I CANNOT fight that battle x3 every morning!)

1stdayschoolliam(And apparently Liam’s posing for a back to school ad).

1stdayschoolboys1stdayschoolliamclassLiam also has the same 2nd grade teacher whom he adores.  He cried the last day of school because he didn’t want summer to start.  (Liam cried, not the teacher.  The teacher I’m sure did not cry).

1stdayschoolgav
We started 4th grade(!) home school yesterday and it’s been going well.  My biggest concern was keeping Sloane occupied.  Once I told her she could do preschool with us, she’s been all about sitting quietly and doing her work.  Hopefully that continues all year!

And this happened two weeks ago:

chippedtooth

Walnuts were being thrown outside (after the boys had been told not to) and suddenly I heard Gavin screaming and Tate apologizing profusely.  And now he has a chipped front tooth.  Of course it had to be him and his tooth, not either of the other boys who still have front baby teeth and who don’t mind going to the dentist as much.  The dentist says it’s not damaged and is easily fixable.  We’ll be heading back the end of September to get it fixed.  Hopefully it really is as easy and as painless as he says. It’s always something around here!!

 

4 Responses to “Summer Fail and New School Years”

  1. Yay for slacker summers!! I choose to think I am doing my kids a big favor by not doing alllll the fun things! Hopefully they think the rare fun things we did were fun. HA! Although, I do think you had an epic trip to ST LOUIS that more than makes up for not getting out the bikes. 🙂

    Can I just say that I absolutely love the toothy picture of Gavin?? It is so fish-bowl and bobble head and I think it just is plain amazing. I”m praying that trip to the dentist in September is as super cool as this picture.

  2. haverlee said

    Oh my WORD, Bennett doesn’t know how to ride a two-wheeler either!! I thought he was the only 7 year old boy. That was my goal this summer too and I asked Jon to take the training wheels off 364 times and it still hasn’t happened. Good news is there’s a nice long hour between post school and dinnertime that needs to be filled… We’ll see who gets to it first 😉

  3. Kathy said

    We found that a kids tandem bike (amazon I think) attached to ours, really helped our son gain confidence & balance. He was riding his own bike after a couple of days! Good luck with everything-you can still do all that fun stuff this fall…..before winter hits. 😉

    • recoveringgavin said

      Hey Kathy we have one of those! We’ve had it for years but haven’t used it for several. Thanks for reminding me about that! We’ll get it out this weekend!

Leave a Reply

