Healthy Child Healthy World

June 2, 2008

I just finished reading (devouring) Healthy Child Healthy World by Christopher Gavigan. I can’t even remember where I first heard about this book, but I picked it up and read it in three days. It is FULL of information on raising children in a healthier, greener, safer environment at home. It’s one of those books that I totally recommend but I can’t even begin to explain it. There was almost too much information and I know I shouldn’t have read it so fast, but I couldn’t put it down.

I found myself shaking my head and was astounded at the the chemicals the FDA allows into almost everything in our homes. Here’s one brief example. In Europe, there are 1,100 chemicals banned from cosmetics. In the US, 9. Yes, you read that right. 9. That was just one statistic and there are tons more scattered throughout the book. Sickening, right?

At times it can be very overwhelming because it seems like we just can’t win. There is crap in EVERYTHING. We shouldn’t drink tap water because the of the chemicals and lead; we shouldn’t drink bottled water because of the high levels of BPA. So, what DO we do?

This book not only pointed out the startling truth about our environment (within the home), but it gave great tips and alternatives. Each chapter is dedicated to a different area of your life or home (preparing for baby, cleaning products, food, beauty products, toys/clothing, lawn/garden care, water/air, and home improvements). Another awesome thing about this book is that there is a 28 page resource section at the back that lists hundreds of products and web sites.

I went from being completely overwhelmed to feeling empowered because there is a lot more we CAN do personally within our home. If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know I’m not really into being “greener” but being SAFER for our family. I firmly believe Gavin’s autism was triggered by environmental factors and I am on a mission to rid my home of as much of those toxins as I possibly can. You have to start small and not try to tackle everything at once. I’ve slowly been phasing out the plastic in our home. My kids now eat their meals on my Corelle dishes (hardly breakable), we only use glass Pyrex leftover containers, we are drinking up the last of our bottled water to be replaced with a water filter, my Dyson ROCKS (with life-time HEPA filter), and I’ve cut down on the chemicals around the house by making my own (safe) dishwasher detergent, all-purpose cleaner, and laundry soap. (I’ll post my recipes soon after I’m done tweaking them!)

I HIGHLY recommend this book and if you have time, check out the Healthy Child, Healthy World web site. There are a lot more great articles and links found on their page.

5 Responses to “Healthy Child Healthy World”

  1. meredith said

    you are such an inspiration! i can’t wait to read this next book. i am following your lead, sister!

  2. Kristen said

    Off to check that book out! We already do many of the things you mentioned, but I’m constantly looking for more info and ways to cut out the toxins. Thanks!

  3. Hey, you have a great blog here!

    I’m definitely going to bookmark you!

    IT IS AMAZING and GREAT post .. PLEASE Keep BLOGGING …

    and Please, You are weelcome to visit my site:
    http://www.taminapark.com/Home-Improvement.html

    Thans & Regards
    Salem

  4. piper's mom said

    i JUST read about this book in Elle’s green issue! that issue also had a really great article about autism/vaccines/research initiatives called “Lost Boy”. i still have the issue but if you want your own it’s the one with Madonna on the cover. (as Madonna surely represents all things green 🙂

  5. Hi Emily,

    We are so thrilled that you loved Christopher’s book. We want to post your blog on our site and would like to speak with you more about it. Can you email me or call the office? 310-820-2030.

    All the Best,
    Becca
    Healthy Child Healthy World

Leave a comment